VM not connecting neither pinging in VLAN setup

Hi all ! I’m new to Open Nebula in practial terms, but since 2020 been looking for testing it.

As a newbie in the subject, I’m facing some issues with my networking setup.

The #1 problem is when I create a VM and can’t ping it even from the node running it. I put this VM in VLAN10, which is the one I’m using in the node and is connected in Cisco switch.

So, here is my whole setup :

Cisco router 2901
Cisco switch 2960-S with VLAN’s configured
1x KVM node acting as a single-node front-end and host.
1x interface (enp0s25.10) used by Open Nebula as my tagged interface for VLAN
1x virbr0 bridge (I created another one, virbr1 just for standby use)
Using default security group for everything down the road

I did a bunch of research about what possible causes could be regarding my setup. So, I would like to systematically document all steps for troubleshooting, and once solved, give back to community creating a quick guide for networking setup and troubleshooting when it comes to VM’s in VLANS and etc, as in the future I plan to use netboot.xyz to provide PXE and HTTPS booting for other nodes, with Firecracker and Kubernetes in place.

So, finally, what points should I check-in ?

1. Bridges
  2. Switches and router (Cisco) configuration
  3. tcpdump from interfaces and other components
  4. Virtual router from OpenNebula
  5. Firewall and iptables rules
  6. ARP and ICMP traffic in the node
  7. Outputs from OpenNebula compoents
    Please, describe the problem here and provide additional information below (if applicable) …

Versions of the related components and OS (frontend, hypervisors, VMs):
KVM single-node : Rocky Linux 8.7
OpenNebula 6.6

Steps to reproduce:
Create VM with VLAN associated to it, then try to ping it from any other host over the network.

Current results:
Nothing reaches the VM.

Expected results:
Ping and connect via SSH into VM.

Any other points ?

Cheers and thanks for any help.

Hello