Resouce IDs, defaults, names


I have some questions about how resources are referenced inside opennebula.

From the XMLRPC api when allocating a host -1 can be used to select the “default” cluster.

How is “default” cluster defined? I can not find any logic other than perhaps the name of the cluster being “default”. is that the case?

Is this pattern used with other resources? or only with the cluster?

With regards to resource names: are they unique? or can 2 hosts/templates/clusters… etc have the same name?


yes you are correct, “default” cluster is the first cluster that is created in oPennebula.

The name of this cluster is “default” and the id is 0.

name and id are uniques.