How to segregate service network from internet access for VMs

Hi.
I am new to opennebula and there is one concept I am not yet getting around networking.

Here is my physical architecture:

• 1 controller node
  • 2 hypervisors

Those three machines are connected through a private network on eth1. I can create a ovs bridge, say br1.
Each of these machines are also connected to internet through eth0? I can create a brdige named br0 for example.

Then when I add a node, how do I specify to the controller that he should connect through the private network for service tasks and how do I specify to the nodes that they should reach internet through eth0?

Thank you in advance for pointing me at the right direction ! I look forward to get my hands dirty :slight_smile:

I think you need to define as vnet as you may use.

for example.

1 net for private trafic.

onevnet show 18

VIRTUAL NETWORK 18 INFORMATION
ID             : 18
NAME           : Default-Private
USER           : user
GROUP          : users
CLUSTER        : -
BRIDGE         : virbrDEVEL
VLAN           : No
USED LEASES    : 26

PERMISSIONS
OWNER          : um-
GROUP          : u--
OTHER          : u--

VIRTUAL NETWORK TEMPLATE
BRIDGE="virbrDEVEL"
BROADCAST="10.38.2.255"
DESCRIPTION="Default net for testing "
DNS="xx.xx.xx.xx"
GATEWAY="10.38.0.1"
NETMASK="255.255.0.0"
NETWORK="10.38.2.0"
NETWORK_MASK="255.255.0.0"
PHYDEV=""
SECURITY_GROUPS="0"
VLAN="NO"
VLAN_ID=""

1 vnet for public trafic.

onevnet show 11
VIRTUAL NETWORK 11 INFORMATION
ID             : 11
NAME           : CloudPyme
USER           : user
GROUP          : users
CLUSTER        : production
BRIDGE         : virbrPUBLIC
VLAN           : No
USED LEASES    : 5

after that, at dom0 you must define the bridges (in these case, virbrPUBLIC and virbrDEVEL)

sample in our dom0

virbrPRIVATE 8000.d8x3x5ff38ax no eth1
virbrPUBLIC 8000.d8x3x5ff38ax no eth1.35

as you see, our PRIVATE is through eth1 and our public is at eth1.35