Postman (or similar) application for opennebula API

I am trying to simplify my API experience (if possible) since I am not a developer. Software called “postman” is one of the ways to do it and I am wondering if there is a downloadable prepared object package for postman? Otherwise I have to write API calls and of course save them for later use, but if someone already did it I can just make an import into postman.

Or if somebody has any other suggestion besides postman…?

Hi Bojan,
I also use Postman for my developing tasks but unfortunately I haven’t used it with OpenNebula’s API so I can’t provide you any helping object :frowning: . What language are you using other than Java and Ruby?

Cheers!

That’s a good one. :slight_smile:
I am not using any language since I am a network and data center engineer. Just this year I started to venture into cloud and software defined networking. The last time I used a programming language was some 15 years ago and that was not too advanced.
I wanted to use Postman to be able to make test API calls, check the format, check the results etc. without too much hassle. I have no develeper environment whatsoever.

OK, I will craft API calls manually. Fine. But do you have some examples? Going through documentation I was only able to find some bits and pieces, but not a single full example, not even for the simplest call (to get “onevm list” for instance).

Challenge accepted!
I’ll check if I can do a ‘onevm list’ using Postman give me some time though :smiley:

Cheers!

:sunglasses:
what an attitude man, kudos…

Ok Bojan!, this is what I’ve tested so far.

I’ve installed this Chrome extension (chrome-extension://mbelaappiaalhoceejaopcghdlnhhain/main.html) which is an XML-RPC client. I’ve entered my OpenNebula testing URL endpoint: http://192.168.121.123:2633/RPC2

Then I’ve clicked on Get methods and… every method listed in the docs are there automagically: http://docs.opennebula.org/5.2/integration/system_interfaces/api.html