Suggestion for Early Stage Deployment

Hi,

Newbie here, I would like to test out Open Nebula on a lab test. I have 3 servers that are going to be used as the test.

• First server running as the front-end with the following specs,
    Quad-core Xeon, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD, 2 Gigabit NIC

• Second and the third server specs,
    8 Cores Xeon, 128 GB RAM, 2 TB HDD, 2 Gigabit NIC

I would like to setup the server to be HA on the 2 compute nodes, and also running Ceph. As for testing purposes, we only have 1 Gigabit connectivity for each nodes. Can it be run? We also want to test whether the public IP will be able to reach the instances, and also creating private networks for our clients later on.

The production purpose is to serve IaaS for our clients.

Thank you,

Regards,

hello, you should have at least 3nodes in HA cluster. You can self-host frontend, so no need for extra node

Hi,

Thank you very much for your response!

I will plan to deploy one more node for the cluster, but can it be deployed later on? After the current setup is production ready.

Btw, by self-hosted front end you mean running it on one of the compute kvm nodes?

Regards

Hello, you should research more about ceph, but what I read and heard, 3 nodes are absolute recommended minimum.

About self-hosted frontend - I run frontend as VM using KVM, but manage it by pacemaker. So it start after cluster is up. I have plan to setup three VMs and run frontend in HA using new RAFT algorithm. Each VM on different node.

You save physical server and also power consuption…

I can confirm that the opennebula including the frontend runs fine in VMs. I have a 3 node HA cluster setup (RAFT) running like that. My master nodes run on vmware and manage a bunch of KVM hosts but the management instances can obviously run on the kvm nodes as well.